League News



                                                                                        NSJHL Concludes their AGM

The Nova Scotia Junior Hockey League held their 2024 Annual General Meeting in Trenton this past week.  Danny Hines, Vice-President of the East Hants Penguins will begin his third year as Chair of the League’s Board of Governors while Kyle Cyr of the Port Hawkesbury Jr. Pirates is returning for his second year as Vice-Chair of the Board of Governors.
As for the League Executive for the 24-25 season, a couple of changes were implemented.  There will no longer be an Executive President of Hockey Operations or Vice-Presidents for the Fred Fox and Sid Rowe Divisions.  Instead, following recommendations from the Board of Governors, there will now be a League Vice-President of Hockey Operations and he is long-time volunteer and former Board Governor and Windsor Businessperson  David Hunter.  Hunter defeated Long-Time Junior League Volunteer Cecil Greencorn and Sackville Businessperson in a vote.  Greencorn had been the Vice-President of the Sid Rowe Division.
       The other change will see a Vice-President of  Discipline and Safety and he will be Executive Banker and West Hants resident Andy Woolaver.  The League is pleased to welcome Leah-Anne Sampson as the new League Secretary for the upcoming 24-25 season.
       Returning to the League Executive in their second year will be League President Gerard MacDonald and Nancy Isnor-Boyd as League Treasurer.  Allan Fraser is keeping his remarkable streak alive as he is returning for his 36th year as League Statistician.  Dan Boyd is returning for a 9th year as the League’s Public Relations Director.
        The Nova Scotia Junior Hockey League anticipates opening the 24-25 season on Friday, Sept 13 with the schedule release anticipated for early August.
        The League will be an 11-team operation in  24-25 after the Cumberland County Blues team was dissolved by the League back in May.
Jun 21, 2024