League News


Fred Fox Division Award Winners


Elks - Named Executive of Year

The 2022-23 Regular season award winners for the Fred Fox Division of the Nova Scotia Junior Hockey League have been named.  In no huge surprise because of his goaltending exploits, Alec MacVicar of the Capstone Colts has been named MVP.  He finished the regular season with a stellar 17-4-0 record, playing in 21 of the 1st Place Colts 30 games, finishing with a 2.09 Goals Against Average and a .936 save percentage.  He recorded 5 shut-outs and stopped 642 of the 686 shots he faced throughout the fall and winter. The Coach of the Year is Justin Boone of the Colts.  He led his team to a 1st place finish and a record of 24-5-1 for 49 points and first place in the Fox Division.  The Sackville Blazers Jaden Hardie took home Rookie of the Year Honours after a solid initial season in the NSJHL where he recorded 10 goals and 17 assists for 27 points and played a dominant role for the Blazers who fought hard all season for a playoff berth and captured fourth place on the third to last day of the regular season. He also recorded 4 power-play goals.
Team Executive of the Year Honours went to the Brookfield Elks who came down to the final weekend of play before being eliminated from the playoffs finishing tied with Sackville at 14-13-3 but losing on a tie-breaker to the Blazers for the final playoff spot.  The Elks team were tied for fourth in League defence but finished 10th offensively and no doubt will be looking for some additional goal scorers for the 23-24 season.  The Most Gentlemanly Player off the Year in the Fox Division was Marshall Plandowski of the East Hants Penguins as he spent only 6 minutes in the penalty box during the while season while scoring 13 times and adding 27 assists for 40 points that included 4 power-play goals and 1 short-handed effort in his total of 13.
League Scholarship winners were also announced.  They are always awarded in a vote based on team commitment, their off-ice contributions to team success as well as their local community volunteer work.  This year’s winners were Ben MacLellan of the Antigonish Jr. Bulldogs and Joey Merriam of the East Hants Penguins.  MacLellan scored twice and added 15 assists to go along with his community work.  Merriam of the Penguins joined the team at the half-way mark of the season and did everything possible as the Penguins fought all year long with the Colts for first place.  Merriam recorded 2 goals and 7 assists for 9 points to earn the Fox Division Scholarship.
Mar 23, 2023