League News


Bulldog-Eagle players big winners for League Awards

The Nova Scotia Junior Hockey League announced their 2022-23 Award winners Monday evening March 20 and the AA Munro Jr. Bulldogs after their 26-3-1 regular season record had three individuals named for awards this season.  In what should come as no surprise at all, Cody MacEachern was named the top goalie in the Sid Rowe Division after recording a 1.85 Goals Against Average stopping 479 of 513 shots while recording three shut-outs and a .934 save percentage.
Bulldogs Head Coach Donnie Grant was named Coach of the Year in the Rowe marking the second consecutive year, Antigonish finished first in their Division having lost only 4 of their 30 regular season games with one of the losses coming in overtime.
The Division’s Top Defenceman was also from Antigonish as Ethan Twolan scored 12 goals and set up 12 others for 24 points while leading the Bulldogs to the best defensive record in the league.  Included among his 12 goals were four power-play markers and two short-handed efforts.


The Division MVP and League Leading Scorer was Sonny Kabatay of the Eskasoni Jr. Eagles. Kabatay had a prolific scoring record this season registering 42 goals and 50 assists for 92 points in 30 games.  His teammate Marcellus Francis was named Rookie of the Year after scoring 28 times and collecting 37 assists including 3 power-play goals for 65 points.  Eskasoni was also named as having the number 1 Team Executive for 22-23.  The only award which did not go to either the Eagles or Bulldogs was the Most Gentlemanly Player Award and Thomas Kennaley of the Pictou County Scotians won that honour after not recording a single penalty minute tis season while scoring 12 times and adding 9 assists for 21 points that included 2 power-play markers and a short-handed effort.
Mar 21, 2023